The Writers’ Program would like to officially congratulate the semifinalists selected in each category of our 2013 Screenwriting and Television Writing Competitions. This year, a record number of students submitted the feature length scripts, television specs, and television pilots they developed in Writers’ Program courses. Afterwards, each entry endured several rounds of anonymous judging by a select group of instructors. For the final round, each group of ten semifinalists will be narrowed down to three finalists in each category, and from there, they will compete for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place prizes ($1,000, $500 and $250 respectively); a guaranteed read by an agent, producer, and/or creative executive; and a one-on-one script consultation (a $700 value) with a professional screenwriter prior to the final judging. The top three winners in each category will be announced in The Hollywood Reporter, and their names and loglines will be sent to more than 1,000 entertainment industry executives. A list of semifinalists and their loglines are also kept on file and made available to executives upon request.

Without further delay, here are this year’s semifinalists (in alphabetical order):


Margaret Ables for “The Baghdad Bureau” (Dramatic Comedy)

Sarah Adina Smith for “The Colony” (Mystery/Thriller)

Ray Chou for “Babalon” (Biopic)

Todd Hornberger for “Mad Trapper Of Rat River” (Quirky Action/ Thriller)

Jennifer Martin for “What’s Left Behind” (Drama)

Hamilton Mitchell for “Game On” (Comedy)

Shira Rosenzweig for “Processor” (Sci-fi/Thriller)

Barbara Stepansky for “Sugar In My Veins” (Drama)

Jared Stone for “Niccolo: The First Rockstar” (Historical Biopic)

James Warren for “Headshot” (Sci-Fi/Action)


Rob Bowie for “Workaholics: Preexisting Conditions” (Half-Hour Spec)

Christine Chang for “Parks and Recreation: Lake Cleanup” (Half-Hour Spec)

Johnny Ellsworth for “Castle: Movie Night” (One-Hour Spec)

Kristiina Hackel for “The Big Bang Theory: The Promenade Differentiation” (Half-Hour Spec)

Grete Heinemann for “Sons of Anarchy: Deliverance” (One-Hour Spec)

Gina Kelly for “Shameless: It’s a Dog’s Life” (One-Hour Spec)

Claire Naber for “Grimm: Bag of Tricks” (One-Hour Spec)

Charlie Neuner for “Archer: Outbreak” (Half-Hour Spec)

Charlie Neuner for “Modern Family: Fair Enough” (Half-Hour Spec)

Valeska Rodriguez for “Girls: I’m Still Living” (Half-Hour Spec)


Kristin Belka for “Encore” (One-Hour Pilot)

Drew Filus for “Two Swinging Bells” (Half-Hour Pilot)

Grete Heinemann for “The King of Valleywood” (One-Hour Pilot)

Daniel Hoh for “Opium Wars” (One-Hour Pilot)

Jason Kiang for “Venice Beached”(Half-Hour Pilot)

Harmony Lucas for “Rising Son” (One-Hour Pilot)

Connor Mullaney for “A Funny Feeling” (Half-Hour Pilot)

Charlie Neuner for “The Offenders” (Half-Hour Pilot)

Aaron Rollins for “Ordnung” (One-Hour Pilot)

Julie Wong for “Ana In Between” (One-Hour Pilot)

For more information about our annual screenwriting competitions, please click here.

Jeff Bonnett is the Program Assistant for Screenwriting (Onsite & Online). Contact him at or (310) 206-1542.

Pin It on Pinterest